Czech Republic currency – Czech crown

The Czech Republic is an independent nation located in Central Europe. The Czech Republic is a member of the European Union and uses the Czech koruna (CZK) as its currency. The Czech koruna is a decimal currency consisting of 100 haler (haler in plural).

The Czech koruna has been in circulation since 1993 when it replaced the Czechoslovak koruna. Since then, the Czech koruna has been pegged to the euro, although it is not part of the eurozone. The exchange rate of the Czech koruna to the euro is currently around 27 CZK to 1 EUR.

The Czech koruna is available in the form of coins and banknotes. The coins come in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 Haler, as well as 1, 2, and 5 crowns. The banknotes come in denominations of 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, and 1,000 crowns.

Foreign currency exchange is available in the Czech Republic, with a wide array of bureaux de change (exchange offices) in major cities and tourist areas. Banks offer a more expensive rate of exchange, while bureaux de change offer a slightly more competitive rate.

In general, it is a good idea to carry some cash in Czech koruna in order to make small purchases such as in restaurants and small stores. Major shops, hotels, and restaurants accept payment in both cash and credit cards. However, it is important to note that some establishments may only accept payment in cash.

Overall, the Czech koruna is a reliable and easy-to-use currency. With its competitive exchange rate and wide availability, it is an ideal currency for travelers to the Czech Republic.